House

学院制度

常州威雅公学目前共有十一个中学学院,其中六个是男生学院,另外五个为女生学院。

每个学院都有一位院长和数名导师。所有的院长和导师都是全职的学科教学人员。他们一起紧密合作,关注学生们的健康成长,监督他们的学业进步以及社交技能的发展。高年级的学生也积极支持低年级学生,比如当他们在校园里迷路时为他们提供帮助,或者 跟他们一起玩游戏、帮助他们做功课等。

每个学院都提供一系列令人兴奋的活动,有纯属娱乐的活动,也有较为正式的学院内竞赛,而这类竞赛几乎涵盖了学校生活的各个方面,涉及学术、运动、音乐、戏剧等不一而足。这样大范围的竞赛是刻意为之,目的是为鼓励每一位学生,让他们意识到自己亦有所长,并能为学院作出贡献。这样的举措也帮助开阔了每位学生的眼界,让他们得到名副其实的全人教育。

每个学院均有专属的颜色、旗帜、院训和院徽。学院成员对自己学院有强烈的忠诚度,为学院的成就而感到骄傲,也因此而培养出自信、归属感以及团队合作精神等重要品质。

Nicola Kirby 院长

奥斯汀

我来自不列颠群岛的西南部——康沃尔。我感到很幸运我在那里出生、成长并且养育了自己的家庭。在那里,我们享受沙滩、各式冲浪以及赛艇。赛艇运动对于我们而言是生活的热情所在,我们参加了很多年的竞赛活动,包括一年一度在锡利群岛举办的世界锦标赛。这些经历既充满挑战又很振奋人心,我的女儿们进入大学后还继续参与赛艇运动,更值得一提的是我的大女儿还获得了为英格兰国家队效力的机会!

尽管我身为英语教师,但我也非常提倡体育运动和其他课外活动。我见证了这些丰富的活动培养了我的儿女们坚韧的品质、团队合作精神、自律能力以及在学业与兴趣爱好间取得平衡的能力。我也想鼓励奥斯汀学院的女孩们都拥有同样的优秀品质。我希望她们能尽力做到最好,但也要能接受自己的错误并从中获取经验教训。

我和我的导师团队将不遗余力地给予孩子们支持和帮助,鼓励她们寻求挑战和创造非凡的经历。正如简·奥斯汀在她的小说《爱玛》中所说:“敢作敢为的人是可以大有作为的。”

Tom Fyfe 院长

布莱克

我是Tom Fyfe,很高兴能成为布莱克学院的院长。我成长于英国威尔特郡的一所寄宿学校,之后我在埃克塞特大学攻读机械工程硕士学位。我十分享受在科学上获得的成功,其中的原因之一是我有一个很优秀的科学老师。所以,无论是在课堂上还是在课外,我都会以同样的方式激励我的学生。

我喜欢冒险运动,我很庆幸自己有各种各样的活动经验,如登山、滑雪、跳伞、潜水、航海、滑水、风筝冲浪、风帆冲浪等等。我始终坚信,学生的教育不仅是课堂内,课外活动同样重要。我还在拉德利学院的一所国际暑期学校担任课程主任,这让我对全球不同的文化有了更广泛的了解。对于布莱克学院,我的目标是为学生们营造一个安全、互助的家庭氛围,让每个人都有机会和自由享受学校提供的一切支持。

Pauline Cuthbertson 院长

卡维尔

我的名字是Pauline Cuthbertson,非常荣幸能够担任威雅公学卡维尔学院的院长。

我来自英国的苏格兰,并在当地受到良好的教育。我于1997年毕业于斯特灵大学并取得生物化学荣誉学位,而后两年我致力于科研活动,从事于制药工业。2004年我在爱丁堡大学获得生物学教育学研究生证书,并从此开始了执教生涯。在学术界和工业界同时都拥有工作经历的我相信,这样的人生经历十分有价值,并且对于我指导学生也大有益处。

我的女儿已经成年,她与我的外孙一起居住在苏格兰。

我来到威雅公学已经一年,未来很多年我都将在这里生活与工作,我本人十分期待。

Lisa Bentham 院长

达夫

能够成为达夫学院的院长,我深感荣幸,这赋予我更多的机会去了解这些我作为导师时就任职的学院的学生。我的座右铭是“让我们一起取得进步”,这也是我希望达夫学院的女生们作为个人、团队与学院所能够做到的。

我在罗马的切斯特长大,从小被丰富的历史文化包围,并有机会去往美丽的北威尔士完成学校里的爱丁堡公爵奖探险项目。我曾就读于诺丁汉大学和赫尔大学。除了教育,文学也是我的爱好之一,而教师的角色恰恰能够将两者结合起来,我既能够帮助学生攻克语法困难,也能够与A Level阶段的学生一同探讨莎士比亚。

我有三十多年的执教经验,曾任教于英国、非洲和南美。我十分珍惜在中国教书的机会,也十分欣赏常州威雅公学的学生所具备的优秀品质。弗朗西斯·达夫是一位杰出的女性,她孜孜不倦地工作,鼓励女孩们抓住那些通常只提供给男性的机会,为社会做出积极的贡献。我也将同样努力鼓励所有达夫学院的女孩可以充分利用她们所获得的机会。

我有一对双胞胎儿子,他们经历了国外生活后都选择在大学期间学习语言学专业,后来他们都成为了出色的语言学家。更重要的是,他们从13岁开始就进入了寄宿学校。我知道,作为父母,把孩子留在寄宿学校是多么不舍;但我也知道,我的两个儿子都十分热爱他们在学校的时光,并且对他们的学院非常忠诚,甚至把学院当成了自己的家。我希望我们达夫学院的女孩也能在这里感受到同样的忠诚度与归属感。

Ralf de Bos 院长

埃尔加学院

我的青少年时期和大部分职业生涯是在世界上许多不同的国家度过的,我发现,相比你所身处的地方,你所遇到的人更为重要。这些经历在帮助我成长为一名教师与导师中起到了至关重要的作用,而我一直也在努力让学生们与我相处时感到安全与自在。我也相信,遇到困难与挑战并成功战胜它们的人,才是最快乐的。所以我的学生们都知道,在课堂上我对他们的要求会非常严格,但也绝不会在他们遇到困难独自挣扎时不管不顾。能够与他人分享生活中的起起伏伏,是与他人建立持久关系的最佳方法,而我也总是乐于参与学生们追求个人爱好的过程,无论是运动、音乐、艺术还是学术方面。正如我以上所提到的,你所遇到的人比你所身处的地方更为重要,所以我妻子和孩子们对我的陪伴让我始终感受到家的温暖,无论我在何处,无论我面临多艰难的挑战。在埃尔加学院,我将不断引导、激励并支持我们的男生,帮助他们收获最好的人生。

Samuel Wright 院长

牛顿

我在英格兰中部美丽的德比郡长大,周末时光都在户外探险中度过,远足、登山、山地骑行等等。在校期间,我最大的兴趣是数学和橄榄球,如今,这两个方面依然是我生活的核心部分。我研究生毕业于约克大学数学系,在大学橄榄球排名中位列第二,并且每年都赢得Roses Tournament校际比赛。而后,我在剑桥大学取得了教育学研究生文凭。成年后的我热衷于探索这个世界,我到过许多有意思的国家和地区,比如在美国完成了一万公里的自驾旅行,为乌干达的慈善机构工作,穿越丛林只为了看野生山地大猩猩,还在大堡礁完成了潜水。

身兼学院院长、数学老师、爱丁堡公爵奖领导者和顾问三个角色,我志在帮助培养全能型年轻人才,引导学生们以多样化的方式学习知识。在牛顿学院,我们鼓励学生们勇敢克服他们所面临的困难,并享受探险精神带来的自由。

Jonny Booth 院长

斯科特

我的兴趣十分广泛,其中旅行、运动和阅读是伴随我一生的爱好。因为在新西兰长大,我经常参加各种各样的户外运动,除了传统的运动项目,我还完成了多次户外探险、峡谷跋涉和长达一周的骑行探险。我也十分喜欢学习和探索新的知识。作为学院院长,我的目标是保证我的学生们也能收获这样的学习热情。我十分荣幸能在威雅公学教授地理学科,因为这门奇妙的学科能帮助学生更好地观察世界,学会不仅要怀着敬畏之情与好奇之心,还要以批判的眼光来看待万物。

我深信在威雅公学教学就是要成为这个学校社区的一员,必须全身心融入到校园生活中,特别是在课外活动与课程上,也要积极付出。我非常乐意为学校贡献自己的一臂之力,我相信,拥有课程外的兴趣是学生生活中十分重要的一部分。

Keith Brown 院长

特纳

我非常荣幸能被任命为特纳学院的院长,我认为这是一个极其重要的角色--对特纳学院男孩子们的个人发展担负着重大的责任。

我自己有三个孩子,他们都已成年;我为他们感到非常自豪,他们现在伦敦生活和工作。在陪伴养育了三个孩子之后,我相信我对孩子们在青春期经历的这些阶段及他们有时候需要的支持有很好的理解。

我在伦敦长大,伦敦是世界上最繁忙的城市之一,这教会了我要对待他人要宽容、耐心和尊重。

我具有体育教育的工作经验和背景,曾参加过赛艇运动最高规格的比赛,也担任过该项运动的最高级别的教练,我对赛艇运动充满热情。这些经验和资历使我被任命为威雅公学赛艇项目的负责人。

我曾在世界各地游历,学习和尊重我所遇到的每一个新的文化和社会团体。

基于我的经验和资历,我将努力做一个善于倾听、具有同理心、帮助孩子们解决困境、关爱和关心孩子们的全面发展、具有说服力并致力于每个学生的发展的学院院长。

我希望特纳能成为一个快乐之家,来自不同年级的学生能够有效地并肩作战;鼓励学生发奋学习,同时也参与到学校的许多活动中。

我的目标是确保每个特纳男孩在从学校毕业时能成为一名充满自信的年轻人,做好了校外生活的准备--拥有优秀的技能、知识和资历,具备良好的礼仪和体面的价值观,并且懂得自尊及尊重他人。

Sam Thurgood 院长

霍金

我的人生绝大部分时间都与寄宿相关,我见证了全人教育中的寄宿经历带来的宝贵价值。我的职责便是在照看学院男生们的同时,竭尽所能去传授这寄宿理念,实现寄宿价值。从历史到运动,我个人有着十分广泛的兴趣,其中对运动的热爱激发了我对体育教学的热情。我还探访过世界上许多美丽的地方,如今中国也成为了我足迹的所到之处。

这是我首次踏上亚洲土地,来到中国后我不禁对这个独特的国家及其丰富多样的文化深感着迷。我的爱人Daniela也与我一同来到威雅公学,她也在学院中与学生们相处融洽。而且她目前正在学习汉语,并非常享受这次难得的机会。能够在如此有前瞻性的学校就职,并为一群活力十足且乐观豁达的年轻学生贡献一己之力,我感到尤为荣幸。

虽然我因此远离英国的家人与朋友,但威雅公学校园让我感到十分亲切。除了早已熟悉的课程部分以外,我和Daniela也将不遗余力地参与校园生活的各个方面并作出自己的贡献。

Mandy Parker 院长

芳婷

我十分高兴能够担任威雅公学新学院—芳婷学院的院长,女生们正开启她们全新的校园生活,能够在她们实现目标与决心的道路上支持并鼓励她们,我感到非常荣幸。芳婷学院以著名芭蕾舞演员玛戈特·芳婷命名,她在艺术事业中投入的宝贵精神值得传承,我也将致力于激励学院女生们拥有同样的动力、适应力和责任感。创造力也是芳婷被传颂的宝贵品质之一,威雅公学对学生们的创造力同样高度重视。身为一名戏剧老师,我极度热爱戏剧和舞蹈,能带领芳婷学院让我感到十分激动。在英国我曾导演过大量的戏剧作品,我深信团队合作、信任与友谊在成功道路上的重要价值。因此我将确保女生们在学院中受到重视并接受良好的培养,团队意识将帮助她们在校园旅途中走得更好。

我执教已三十多年,同时是两个男孩的母亲,我的两位儿子其中一位也成了一名教师,另一位在英国的大学读研究生。我十分清楚支持、鼓励与好的榜样对于年轻人在学术、身体和交际等方面取得进步是多么重要,因此我将鼓励女生们充分把握学校提供的各种机会。芳婷学院优秀的导师们为学生们的成长创造了良好的环境,我们将一起帮助学生们发展成为自强、有创造力且睿智的人,帮助她们未来实现梦想。

Eileen Tamati 院长

赛默维尔

我的名字是Eileen Tamati,我非常喜欢我作为萨默维尔学院院长的角色。Mary Somerville是一位坚强且有抱负的女士,我希望能够激励我们萨默维尔学院的女孩们从威雅公学丰富的活动中来发展这些优秀品质。

我来自新西兰,并在新西兰接受了良好的教育。我拥有体育教育学位、教育学士学位和教学文凭。我已经从教21年,教育是我真正热爱的事业。

这是我来到常州威雅公学的第三年,我目前同时担任威雅公学体育部主任、运动主管和萨默维尔学院院长。

我和我的三个孩子一同生活在这里,他们现在都在中国成长和发展。我的大女儿在体育部担任老师,促进学校无板篮球项目的发展。运动一直是我的热情所在,30多年来,我一直在参加并指导高水平无板篮球和篮球这两项运动的竞赛。

我的大儿子目前正在常州大学攻读汉语语言文学。他非常欣赏中国和中国文化,并充分利用在这里的机会学习中文和中国文化。

我最小的儿子现在是常州威雅公学的一名学生,他十分热爱运动,愿意把握一切参与运动的机会。

我们是一个热爱旅行的家庭,去过很多地方。我一直坚信,给孩子们更多机会看看这个世界和其多元的文化,能够帮助他们成长为更加自信和独立的年轻人。

充满热情的萨默维尔学院老师们将用自己的行动去鼓励和关爱学生,全力支持女孩们充分发挥她们的潜力,勇敢迎接未来的挑战。

Aimee Deibert 院长

布莱顿

能够成为常州威雅公学新学院——布莱顿学院的创始院长,我深感自豪和荣幸。我成长于美国宾夕法尼亚州的雷丁市,从小就热爱各种户外活动,例如滑雪、马术、游泳、自然探险等等。因为这里距离费城和纽约非常近,我还接触了很多美妙的艺术和音乐作品。另外我还会定期观看戏剧和音乐表演、参观博物馆、参与音乐会和戏剧作品,从而收获了丰富的艺术经历。

我从美国威斯敏斯特合唱学院(位于新泽西州普林斯顿)取得了音乐理论和作曲的音乐学士学位。接着,我又在宾州西彻斯特大学完成了音乐教育再深造。在宾夕法尼亚州和和沙特阿拉伯,我积攒了多年的教学经历,教授中学合唱和学术音乐。

我于2017年3月初到常州威雅公学,并很快爱上了学校这种以寄宿、导师以及人文关怀为核心的氛围。我亲眼见证了寄宿制对于学生独立性、承受力、同理心以及同学情谊的培养。我坚信未来的日子,在布莱顿学院优秀导师们的共同努力下,我们一定会给予学生在学术、音乐和运动上最大的支持和关心。

参观

亲临体验我校优异之处

参观我们的学校
查看学校宣传册

申请

学生入学报名申请

开始申请
下载申请表

House

The Houses

Wycombe Abbey School Changzhou has eleven senior Houses, six for boys and five for girls. Each House has a Housemaster or Housemistress and Tutors. All Housemasters, Housemistresses and Tutors are full time Academic teaching staff. Together, they closely monitor pupils' welfare as well as their academic progress and social development. Senior pupils also offer positive support for the younger ones, whether by helping them to find their way around, playing games with them or assisting them with 'Prep'.

Each House offers an exciting array of activities - ranging from pure fun to the more serious inter-House competitions, which covers almost every facet of School life academic, sport, music and drama. This range is deliberate to encourage every pupil to feel they have something worthwhile to contribute, and also to help expand each pupil's horizons so that they truly gain an all-round education.

With their own colours, flag, motto and emblem, House members develop a strong sense of loyalty to their House and pride in its achievements, which cultivates important qualities such as a sense of belonging, team work and self-confidence.

Nicola Kirby Housemistress

Austen

I was fortunate to grow up, and bring up my own family, in Cornwall, the south-western tip of the British Isles. We enjoyed the beach, body-boarding, various attempts at surfing (which is trickier than it looks) and pilot gig-rowing. The sport of gig rowing became our passion and we competed for many years, including at the annual World Championships held in the Isles of Scilly. These amazing experiences were both challenging and exciting and my daughters went on to row for their universities with my eldest daughter also having the opportunity to row for England.

Even though I am a teacher of English, I am a firm advocate for participation in sport or other activity. I watched it teach my daughters, and my son, resilience, team work, self-discipline and how to have a balance between work and hobbies. It is these same qualities that I wish to encourage in the girls of Austen House. To strive to be their best in all they do, to accept when things go wrong and to have the resilience to learn from those experiences.

My team of tutors and I will support your daughter in all of her endeavours, encouraging her to seek challenges and wonderful experiences. As Jane Austen wrote in her novel 'Emma': "a vast deal may be done by those who dare to act."

Tom FyfeHousemaster

Blake

My name is Tom Fyfe and I am delighted to be housemaster of Blake house. I grew up in a boarding school in Wiltshire before studying for a Masters in Mechanical Engineering at Exeter University. One of the reasons that I have enjoyed success in the sciences is because I had a fantastic science teacher. I am driven to inspire students in the same way in the classroom.

I enjoy adventurous training and I have been very fortunate to have experience in a huge range of activities; mountaineering, skiing, parachuting, scuba diving, sailing, water skiing, kite surfing, wind surfing to name just a few. I firmly believe that a young person’s education is just as much outside the classroom as in. I also work at an international summer school at Radley College as a Course Director which has giving me a wider understanding of different global cultures. My goal in Blake house is to develop a safe and supportive family atmosphere where everyone has the opportunity and freedom to enjoy all the school has to offer.

Pauline CuthbertsonHousemistress

Cavell

My name is Pauline Cuthbertson and I’m delighted to be the Housemistress for Cavell here at Wycombe Abbey International School, Changzhou.

I come from and was educated in Scotland, one of the four countries that make up the United Kingdom. I graduated with an Honours Degree in Biochemistry from Stirling University in 1997 before undertaking research in a laboratory for two years. From there I worked in the pharmaceutical industry before attaining my PGCE in Biology from Edinburgh University in 2004 and I’ve been in teaching ever since. Working in both an academic and industrial environment, has given me real life experiences which I believe is invaluable and of great benefit to the children in my care.

I have a grown-up daughter and a young grandson who still live in Scotland.

I have been living and working here in Changzhou for one year and hope to be here for many more.

Lisa BenthamHousemistress

Dove

I am excited to be Housemistress of Dove; it will allow me to build on the relationships I have already established as House tutor. My school motto was ‘Let us make progress.’ That is my aim For Dove girls as individuals, groups and a House.

Growing up in Chester (a Roman city), I was surrounded by history and had access to the beauty of North Wales where I completed my Duke of Edinburgh expeditions with school. I studied at Nottingham University and Hull University. Literature is one of my passions alongside education. My teaching role allows me to combine both; whether that is helping a pupil struggling with grammar or discussing Shakespeare with A Level pupils.

Having been an English teacher for over thirty years in UK, Africa and South America, the opportunity to teach in China had to be grasped. The work ethic of the pupils at WASCZ is exceptional. Francis Dove was an exceptional woman who worked tirelessly, encouraging girls to take up opportunities normally reserved for boys, contributing positively to society. I will endeavour to ensure all Dove girls make the most of the opportunities afforded to them.

I have twin sons who have both become competent linguists after living abroad, choosing to study languages at university. More significantly, they went to boarding school from the age of 13. I know, as a parent, how difficult it can be to leave your child at boarding school; I also know that both my sons loved their time at school, becoming very loyal to their House and considering it home. I hope that Dove girls will feel that same sense of loyalty and belonging.

Ralf de BosHousemaster

Elgar

Having spent my youth and a large part of my career in various countries around the world I have discovered that where you are, is less important than who you meet. This has played a vital role in developing me as a teacher and tutor and I have always tried to ensure that all pupils would feel safe and at ease around me. I also believe that the happiest people are those who meet challenges and overcome them so my pupils know they will be pushed hard in my class but they also know I will not abandon them to struggle alone. Being able to share ups and downs with others is, I feel, the best way to create a lasting bond with someone and I am always ready to join my students in pursuing their interests, be they athletic, musical, artistic or academic. As I wrote earlier, who you meet is more important than where you are and my wife and children will always ensure that I feel at home wherever I am, not matter how tough the challenges are! Here in Elgar I will encourage, excite and support the boys so that they may achieve the best in life.

Samuel Wright Housemaster

Newton

Growing up in Derbyshire, a beautiful region in the middle of England, I spent many weekends exploring the outdoors, hiking, climbing, and mountain biking. In school, my main passions were Mathematics and Rugby, which are still core components of my life today. I graduated with a Masters in Mathematics from the University of York, where I played 2nd XV University Rugby, winning the Roses Tournament each year. I then went on to complete my PGCE at the University of Cambridge. During my adult life, I have indulged my passion for exploration, visiting many exciting countries, driving across 10,000 miles of the USA, working for a charity in Uganda, trekking through jungles to see wild mountain gorillas and scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef.

As Housemaster, Mathematics teacher and certified Award Leader and Assessor for the Duke of Edinburgh Award; my ambition is to help create versatile young adults, who share my appreciation of learning in all forms. In Newton House, we encourage our pupils to overcome any obstacles that confront them and to enjoy the freedom that comes from being adventurous.

Jonny BoothHousemaster

Scott

I have many interests and hobbies of which travelling, sport and reading would be my constant companions. Outside of conventional sports, growing up in New Zealand I have always been surrounded by the outdoors and have completed many mountain and overnight tramping expeditions, canyoning treks and week-long cycling expeditions. I have always had a joy of learning and discovering new knowledge, and my aim as Housemaster is to ensure our pupils will also have this passion for education. I feel privileged to teach geography since it is a fantastic subject which can help students to look at the world, not only with a sense of awe and wonder but also with a critical eye.

I firmly believe that education is about becoming a member of a school community and playing a full and active part in the life of the school, particularly extra-curricular clubs and activities. I am quick to volunteer to help and believe having other interests is an important part of life.

Keith BrownHousemaster

Turner

I am extremely honoured to be appointed Housemaster to Turner House, I see this role as one of significant importance and responsibility for the personal development of your son.

I have three grown up children who I am immensely proud of, who now live and work in London. Having raised three children, I believe I have a very good understanding of the phases, children go through, as they travel through adolescence and the support they sometimes need.

Growing up in London, one of the busiest cities in the world, taught me to be tolerant, patient and respectful of others.

I come from a Sporting background having competed and coached at the highest level in the sport I am passionate about rowing. This experience and knowledge led to me being appointed Head of Rowing at Wycombe Abbey.

I have travelled extensively throughout the world, learning from and respecting each new culture and society I have encountered.

From this background I will strive to be a Housemaster that is good at listening to others, empathetic, adept at resolving difficult situations, caring and interested in holistic development, being persuasive and committed to the development of every pupil.

I want to make Turner a happy House where pupils from different year groups operate effectively side by side. Pupils are encouraged to work hard, but also get involved in many of the activities around the School.

My aim is to also ensure every Turner boy leaves well-prepared for life beyond school, with excellent skills, knowledge and qualifications, good manners, decent values, self-respect, respect for others as confident young men.

Sam ThurgoodHousemaster

Hawking

After spending most of my life in the boarding sector, I have witnessed first hand the experiences and values that boarding life can provide within a holistic education. It is my duty to instill these within the boys under my care and I will do my utmost to impart this. I have a wide variety of interests from history to sport and the latter stimulated my passion to teach Physical Education. I have also had the fortune of visiting many wonderful places around the world, of which China is now definitely one.

This is my first time visiting Asia and I have been captivated by the culture and diversity within this unique country. I have travelled to Wycombe Abbey with my partner Daniela and she has a wonderful manner with the pupils in the house. She is currently studying Chinese and has fully embraced this opportunity. It is an honor to be working in such a forward-thinking establishment and feel privileged to be shaping the lives of such delightful, open-minded young men.

The Wycombe Abbey International School community has been so welcoming and without doubt justifies the huge change and sacrifice that we have made in moving away from friends and family in the UK. Daniela and I have every intention of playing a full and active part in all aspects of school life, not just within the co-curricular programme with which I am so familiar.

Mandy ParkerHousemistress

Fonteyn

It is my great pleasure to be the housemistress of Fonteyn House, the newest girls’ house at WAIS. All the young ladies in this house are beginning their exciting journey at the school, and it is a honour to be able to support and encourage them on this journey towards fulfilling their goals and ambitions for the future. Fonteyn House is named after the great ballet dancer, Margot Fonteyn, and I will work to inspire the drive, resilience and commitment that Fonteyn brought to her art in the pupils under my care. Of course, this should also include the creativity which she was also celebrated for, and which is prized so highly at WAIS. As a drama teacher myself, and with a great love of theatre and dance, I am particularly excited to be leading the Fonteyn House. Having directed a large number of theatre productions in England, I strongly believe in the value of teamwork, trust and friendship on the journey to success, and to this end I will ensure that pupils feel valued and nurtured in this house, and that this sense of community will help to sustain them on their journey through the school.

Having been a teacher for over 30 years, and as a parent of two boys, one now a teacher himself, and one studying for an MSs at University in England, I am very aware of how important support, encouragement and a good role model are in encouraging young people to excel academically, physically and socially. I will be encouraging them to take full advantage of all the wonderful opportunities the school can offer them. Along with the wonderful tutors who are part of the Fonteyn team, the community that girls join in Fonteyn House will be key to ensuring that they are able to develop into strong, creative and intelligent young women who will be able to achieve their dreams in the future.

Eileen TamatiHousemistress

Somerville

My name is Eileen Tamati and I am thoroughly enjoying my role as Somerville Housemistress. Mary Somerville was a strong and aspiring woman, qualities I would like to encourage our Somerville girls to develop through the vast array activities available here.

I am from and was educated in New Zealand – the land of the long white cloud. I hold a Physical Education Degree, Bachelor of Education Degree and a Teaching Diploma and have been teaching for 21 years now, which is something I am very passionate about.

This is my third year at Wycombe Abbey School. Currently I am Head of Physical Education, Director of Sport as well as Somerville Housemistress.

I am here with my 3 children, all of whom are currently thriving in China. My oldest daughter is teaching in the Physical Education Department and is leading the Netball Development. Sport is a passion of mine and I have played and coached competitive and high-performance netball and basketball spanning over 30 years.

My oldest son is currently going to Changzhou University studying a Degree in Chinese Language and Literature. He is in complete admiration with China and its culture and is making the most of his opportunities whilst here.

My youngest son is a pupil here at Wycombe Abbey Changzhou, he loves sport and will play anything if given the opportunity.

We are a family that love to travel and have done so extensively. I believe in giving my children the opportunity to see the world and the many cultures within, to assist them to grow into confident and independent young adults.

Through the nurturing and encouragement from our enthusiastic Somerville staff we will support our girls to achieve their potential and to seek head on the challenges that lay ahead.

Aimee DeibertHousemistress

Blyton

I am proud and fortunate to be the founding Housemistress of Blyton House, the newest House here at Wycombe Abbey School Changzhou. I grew up in Reading, Pennsylvania, USA, where I was able to enjoy many outdoor activities, such as skiing, horseriding, swimming, and nature exploration. I was also exposed to many fantastic artistic and musical experiences, as I was raised a short distance from Philadelphia and New York City. I regularly attended theatrical and musical performances, as well as visiting museums, and participating in many concerts and theatre productions myself.

I earned my Bachelor of Music degree in Music Theory and Composition from Westminster Choir College, in Princeton, New Jersey. I furthered my education at West Chester University of Pennsylvania, completing a Post-Baccalaureate Certification in Music Education. I have taught secondary Choir and academic music for many years in Pennsylvania, Saudi Arabia.

I arrived at Wycombe Abbey School Changzhou in March of 2017 and quickly fell in love with boarding, tutoring, and the pastoral care that is the core of our school. I have witnessed personally how boarding fosters independence, resilience, empathy, and comradery in our pupils. Together with my team of talented tutors, I strive to lead the pupils in my care to academic, musical, and athletic excellence in the years to come.

Visit

Come and see what makes our school excellent

Visit Our School
View Our Prospectus